Saltimbocca

Saltimbocca

I set out to make another recipe from the fabulous Beyond Bacon this week, Maple Sage Roasted Butternut Squash, and found myself staring at a handful of leftover fresh sage.

Popular Paleo

I set out to make another recipe from the fabulous Beyond Bacon this week, Maple Sage Roasted Butternut Squash, and found myself staring at a handful of leftover fresh sage. Now what’s a girl to do with that… *think… think… SALTIMBOCCA! I could have slammed my head against the counter for not thinking to make this recipe sooner! It is hands-down one of my all time favorite recipes, Paleo or otherwise.

Saltimbocca translates to “jumps in the mouth” in Italian. If that doesn’t tell you it’s good, I don’t know what will! I favor recipes that require only a few ingredients and still manage to yield complex flavor. Saltimbocca does just that.

Traditionally, it’s given a light dredge in flour prior to cooking to help crust the meat. It looks nicer that way and gives the texture a boost. For the Paleo version, we’ll obviously skip that step. After making…

View original post 589 more words

Leave a Reply

